on the road again

The Golf is back in action.

After five days and no help from a warm front on the horizon, we decided it was time to get it towed. Apparently I had the wrong kind of oil in there, one that was gellin’ and therefore preventing the car from starting. After an oil change, a battery charge, a dignostic check and a fixed headlight [not to mention a few bills] later, we got our car back. The mechanic encouraged me to cover the hood with a blanket at night to keep air from getting under the car, so basically I will have to go tuck it in every night and read it a story and say to you ‘you better freakin’ wake up in the morning.’ I’ll feel a lot better once this cold snap breaks, which will be another 5 days or so.

Without a doubt, this has been one of the most stressful weeks of my life. I was thinking and praying about it last night, and came to the conclusion that I have no choice but to look back and figure out what I am meant to learn from an experience like this. Here are a few things that come to mind right away.

1) I don’t know what I would do without my wife. I love Lauren so much and she was so supportive and encouraging this past week. She knew that we would get through it and that everything was going to be ok, and helped me when I couldn’t see that.

2) I have a lot to learn about reacting to tough situations. I loved this one part of To Own A Dragon where Miller talks about how wise people don’t react off the cuff, but take some time before speaking / acting. I need to read that again. I can get frazzled way too easily.

3) It truly sucks to know that you’re being helped begrudgingly. I don’t ever want to make people feel that way.

4) I like to be in control of situations and fix problems right away. I need to learn to give up control and let things work out in due time. When it comes down to it, control is an illusion and I need to give it to the Lord. It’s good to be humbled in that way.

5) I have never really been in a situtation where I had to go out of my way to ask for help this much. That is hard for me sometimes, as I don’t want to feel like I am inconveniencing others. I want to be one who freely offers to help others out of love, and this week has helped me to see just how important it is to help people who are in need. I need to be less selfish with my time.

6) When you’re living in Manitoba, it’s important to take the right steps to winterize your car, especially if it’s a diesel.

I think that’s the basic stuff. It’s hard to take a look in the mirror and confront flaws in your character, flaws which are generally magnified in stressful times. Yeah, this week sucked, but in the long run it will be worth it if I can be able to grow from it. I know that Lauren and I have grown closer through this whole Manitoba experience so far, and that is a gift.

I am pretty pooched right now. I am going to relax a bit while Lauren is at work, maybe peep the Disney Robin Hood movie that I got for Christmas.

Thank goodness we only have 2 more winters here in Manitoba … or do we? I’ll save that news for a future post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

