nhl deadline day

For complete and hilarious coverage of how it all went down, please read the Jay Onrait TradeCentre blog. That is how I was kept abreast of all the day’s happenings.

Some thoughts:

Ryan Smyth traded to the Islanders. Wow. That is a big one I didn’t see until I got home. First Pronger, and now the heart of the Oil. Devastating to Edmonton, although he could be back in the summer.

Bill Guerin to the Sharks is huge, as he will be reunited with Joe. I am kicking myself for not jumping the gun and picking him up in the hockey pool. Nashville and San Jose have jumped ahead of Anaheim as the West favorites in my mind.

Todd Bertuzzi to the Red Wings is cloudy due to the fact that he is currently on IR, but could pay huge dividends if he is healthy come playoff time. This begs the following question: which trade was worse – Joe to SJ or Luongo to Vancouver? Sure, Joe was the MVP last year, but at least the Bruins got what turned out to be Kobasew, Ference and Sturm. Florida will end up with Alex Auld and a conditional pick for what may be this year’s MVP / Norris winner. I’m callling that a PTI ‘toss up’.

– If I were in the East, I would NOT want to be matched up with the Penguins. Reeling in Gary Roberts for some veteran leadership and Georges Laracque to protect the young guns was a big victory for them. Word on the street is that the Sens could have had my nephew’s #1 man for a 1st round pick, and they passed. If they match up with the Pens in the 1st round, that could come back to bite them in the Charlie Brown’s.

– As for my Bruins, they picked up Aaron Ward for Paul Mara. Yipee. Bust out the champagne! Ward does have 3 rings, though. I just saw they they traded Brad Boyes for Dennis Wideman. I don’t know too much about Wideman, but I worry the Bruins may have given up on Boyes too early.

I’m sure there are some other moves I haven’t seen yet, but these were the biggies I think. It’s a gret day to be a hockey fan, am I right?

I can’t wait for the playoffs.

    • Melissa
    • February 28th, 2007

    Noah has asked for a Pittsburg jersey already!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

