school’s out / the sens patch

The scuttlebutt here in Otterburne is that I am starting a new job next week. For the past 7 months or so, I have been working as an Education Assistant at a local school, but as of Monday, I will be a custodian at Providence College and Seminary, the soon-to-be home of the cleanest toilets in Manitoba. Speaking frankly, I was not entirely excited about the idea of assuming this new position, because this is maybe not my dream job? [I’m Ron Burgundy ?] I’m 26, and it’s possible that being a custodian was not in the plans, and at first I struggled with the perception that this was a step backwards for me. But, my attitude quickly changed based on two things. a) This new situation is an answer to prayer for Lauren and I, provisionally speaking. And b), I have realized that there is a big distinction to be made between ‘job’ and ‘vocation’. Vocationally, we are called to serve and love both the Lord and our neighbor in all that we do, and in that light anything and everything that we do has tremendous value. I am incredibly thankful that God has opened up this door, and I hope to make the best and most of it. I am pretty pumped not to have to make a 60km round trip to work every day, and to get more involved in the Prov community. It’s going to be good.

One more thing. In lieu of the playoff beard, I have been growing a ‘sens patch’ to show my support. I am determined to let it grow as long as the Senators are in the playoffs, which, hopefully, will be until sometime in June.

Here’s a visual:

It’s been working so far [3-1 series lead, hoping to finish it off tomorrow], but it’s a bit itchy. Time will tell if it lasts.

    • Jim McLaren
    • April 19th, 2007

    Ian
    Your sister and brother-in-law are going to the game tonoght.
    GO SENS GO

    Dad

    • Mike
    • April 19th, 2007

    I read a bit itchy to fast and thought you typed something else. Praying for your new job situation..

    • Melissa
    • April 19th, 2007

    GO SENS GO!!!!!

  1. Mike – watch your mouth. and thanks for the prayers. miss ya buddy.

    Melissa – I really can’t believe you guys are skipping band practice for a hockey game. haha, just kidding. Have fun, and see you on CBC.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

