thinking about …

… alternate ways of living.

This is a topic that I have been thinking / talking / praying about alot lately, and I have come to the obvious conclusion that this is something that is extremely challenging to wrap one’s mind around, let alone begin to implement.

It’s clear that as followers of Christ, we are called to live differently, to model an alternative to the social order. The problem is that the pull of the prevailing social order is so strong that when alternate ways of living are suggested or introduced as an option, we are not willing to give up what we feel we are all entitled too. There is a picture out there that outlines what it means to have the abundant life. It involves a house in a nice neighborhood, a decent career, good income. When all these ducks are in a row, then we have arrived. What makes it even harder is that this is true even in Christian circles, among those who should be on the frontlines of modelling a different way, the way.

I think about my current job, and sometimes I am embarassed that I am working as a custodian. I think to myself ‘this is not what I pictured for myself at 26.’ I was praying about this earlier this evening, and suddenly I came to value the opportunity to learn what it means to serve, to do things that many others would not be willing to do, and to support my wife in any way that I can. My embarassment sprang from buying into that picture of success that I desperately want to distance myself from and can’t help but get caught up in. Just from that little glimpse of peace that I felt while praying, I am hopeful that I will be able to buck that trend and embrace a different way of living, one that more closely represents the Kingdom of God, life as it should be as opposed to life as it is.

I would like to think that I am ready and willing to share all my things, invite anyone and everyone from all walks of life into my home, live in the same house as others or live in a not-so-friendly neighborhood. I don’t know that I can say that I am quite there yet. I do know that I would rather struggle to get there than sit back and let the common picture of ‘the good life’ chew me up and spit me out with nothing to show for it in the end.

Sure, it’s hard. And I look at the words of Christ and ask myself ‘honestly, what about all this is actually easy?’ Yeah, not much. In my eyes, if you look at something and say ‘that would be too hard’, it’s probably worth pursuing.

I’m home by myself this week [Lauren is home until next Tuesday] so I guess I will have some time to kick back and think about life and how I want to live it. More than that, I need to think about life and how I have been called to live it as a Christian. I’m restless for a different way, and am thankful that I have people in my life who share that sentiment. I’m hoping to do a little solo camping this weekend to get away and have little silent retreat, if the weather co-operates.

Something’s brewing. I can smell it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

