’07-’08 nhl preview


Technically, the season has already started, but it all gets going for real tomorrow night. I’ll skip the preamble and get right to it with my Conference standings predictions.

West
1. Anaheim Ducks
2. Detroit Red Wings
3. Calgary Flames
4. San Jose Sharks
5. Colorado Avalanche
6. Vancouver Canucks
7. Minnesota Wild
8. Los Angeles Kings [*West surprise pick]
9. Nashville Predators
10. Dallas Stars
11. St. Louis Blues
12. Chicago Blackhawks
13. Edmonton Oilers
14. Columbus Blue Jackets
15. Phoenix Coyotes

East
1. Pittsburgh Penguins
2. Ottawa Senators
3. Carolina Hurricanes
4. New York Rangers
5. Buffalo Sabres
6. New Jersey Devils
7. Philadelphia Flyers
8. Florida Panthers [*East surprise pick]
9. Montreal Canadiens
10. Boston Bruins
11. Tampa Bay Lightning
12. Toronto Maple Leafs
13. Washington Capitals
14. New York Islanders
15. Atlanta Thrashers

Note: I tried to be unbiased and didn’t pick the Bruins to make the playoffs. It could happen, but realistically, I don’t think they have done enough.

– Crosby will lead the league in points, and Ovechkin will score the most goals.
– ROY will be … either Carey Price or Jonathan Toews, Coach of the Year will be Jacques Martin.
– Best D-man will be Chris Pronger, goalie Miika Kipprusoff

And finally, this year’s NHL Stanley Cup Finals will feature SAN JOSE SHARKS V. PITTSBURGH PENGUINS.

There you have it. It’s an inexact science, of course, and you never know who could tumble or surprise. All I know is that I can’t wait to get it started, and will be watching HNIC on Thursday to see the Sens dominate the Leafs.

    • Jim MClaren
    • October 4th, 2007

    I have kept a copy and we will see how close you are. I think Detroit will be there in the final with the Senators prevailling to win cup.

    Dad
    Colorado to win World Series.

  1. My sister Melissa has questioned my pick of the Penguins to make it out of the East. I think they are the second best team in the East [after Ottawa, of course], and I think the Sens can potentially make it back to the Finals. I just believe the Penguins are the next great team in the NHL and that they could start to dominate this year. I would love to see a rematch of that series from last year with an older, more experienced Penguins team. I don’t know, it’s hard to make it back to the Finals, and I honestly think the Sens have some questions in goal that need to be answered, with Emery not 100% and Gerber … well, he is who he is. Just some thoughts.

    • Melissa
    • October 4th, 2007

    I agree about the goaltending. Emery needs to be 100% soon. Gerber is so unpredictable…he makes me nervous. I honestly don’t think we will make it to the finals with Gerber. I just can’t stand Crosby and do not him to win the cup before we do!!
    I too am keeping a copy of this to see how you do!
    btw…how about that Heatley deal!!??
    Miss you guys!!!

    • Jim McLaren
    • October 4th, 2007

    I agree with you guys with both of you on then Senators. The goalie issue is the most important issue. gerber did not look that sharp last night at all.

    L Y

  1. February 26th, 2008

Leave a Reply

