another Sunday School question

Looking back at what I wrote yesterday, I’m not sure I was able to express exactly what I was thinking, nor do I fully agree with how it may be interpreted. Which brings me to another semi-Sunday School question that maybe I need to answer for myself. On one hand, we know that the message of Jesus is one of hope, whereby we are forgiven and set free, given a new lease on life that we would never have been able to accomplish on our own. And on the other hand, I don’t think we are meant to simply rest in that, but to act in a way that represents the message of Jesus in tangible ways to the world around us. I guess the question then is how to balance the acceptance of the grace of God [faith] and our need to be engaged in Kingdom action [works] without a sense of guilt or feeling burdened or believing that we need to do and be good in order to please God or earn what He has done for us. To borrow a phrase from Jim Wallis, our relationship with Christ is indeed deeply personal, but is not intended to be private. Something to wrestle with …

On another note, I have fully embraced the newest WordPress theme. I dig the colours and the layout, and think I will stick with it for a while. Still tinkering with it, trying to get it the way I like it, but I enjoy the look for sure.

Have a great Wednesday.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

