winter take two

The inevitable has occurred. Winter has returned to Otterburne, and in a big way. We’re talking full on snow coverage, -20 temperatures and the dreaded wind chill factor. Regardless of how nice the fall has been, I knew that this day was coming [although it is a bit early for it to be this cold], and it’s time to put the whole idea of embracing the present into full effect.

Last winter was unkind to us MB rookies. Above and beyond the snow and cold, we had numerous car problems [including a rollover into the ditch] and felt boxed in by our remote setting. Living in the country can be nice and quiet in the summer, but during these months it can be downright isolating. There were times when we literally felt like hibernating bears. And it’s not even as if you can just run out to Starbucks for a boost; every outing is actually quite the production, what with all the bundling up, cleaning the car, hoping it will start and braving of icy roads 20km just to rent a movie.

To be fair, it’s not all bad, and truly, I want to embrace this new season. For one thing, this winter will mark the majority of our last days in MB, and we certainly want to make the most of spending time with friends and taking in all that we can of Winnipeg and its surroundings. It certainly is a blessing that will be around to see the first days of our new little friend Gavin, and I am very much looking forward to the day when we can go skating on the Red River, drink hot chocolate and scarf down some of those wicked mini donuts at The Forks.

I want this winter this season to be one where I grow in my ability to be content in all situations, to be thankful for what I have and am able to do rather than sitting around grumbling about my ‘misfortune.’ Certainly there are those out there for whom winter is a much harsher time, and if I can’t see past my own moaning, how then am I going to be open to helping those who are truly in need?

I’m also getting a bit of a promotion at work, and am looking forward to the challenge of more responsibility. There’s also the matter of my birthday and our upcoming pilgrimage to Ontario to look forward to. Yes, winter can be a rough season, but I am intent on embracing each new day as a gift, and certainly don’t want to wish any time away.

And now I’m off to watch Lord of the Rings, movies that to me are synonymous with winter and always fill my heart with great joy.

    • Ian
    • November 27th, 2007

    Wintertime = snuggletime!
    love you ee! xo

  1. that was going to be my comment…
    love you too ee. more o’s than x’s.

    • Sabrina
    • December 3rd, 2007

    We look forward to spending time with you two this frigid winter too. Thanks for your post…it’s a good reminder for the Alberta girl here to quit complaining and enjoy the diversity of seasons we have – even if winter is the longest.

    Hope that all is well out there with you guys. Hoping to see you sometime soon!!

  1. December 3rd, 2007

Leave a Reply

