2007 book list

Christmas is over, and soon we will be ringing in 2008. And so it is time for me to offer up my 2007 book / movie selections, beginning with a full list of books read, with some choice selections highlighted for the benefit of those looking for a good read. Without further ado:

The List

Prayer: Does It Make a Difference? – Philip Yancey

The Return of the Prodigal Son – Henri Nouwen
It had been a while since I read a Nouwen book. Lauren had this one for school, and I wrote a few posts on this one.

Messy Spirituality – Mike Yaconelli

Postmodern Pilgrims – Leonard Sweet

Ancient Future Evangelism – Robert Webber

Bird by Bird – Anne Lamott

The Challenge of Jesus – N.T. Wright
I’ve said it 100 times, but I feel ripped for having to read The Jesus I Never Knew in Leading Edge while Lauren got this one in the exact same class. Crazily, this was the first Wright book I read, and needless to say I was into it.

Simply Christian – N.T. Wright

Body Piercing Saved My Life – Andrew Beaujon
Great book about the Christian music scene and the differentiation between Christian bands and Christians in bands. Posted about it here.

Girl Meets God – Lauren F. Winner
Boy reads Girl Meets God and quite enjoyed it.

The Sacred Way – Tony Jones

The Search to Belong – Joseph R. Myers

Free of Charge – Miroslav Volf

Maus I & II – Art Spiegelman
I picked these books up from a used bookstore and they are maybe the most powerful books I have read about the Holocaust.

Resident Aliens – Stanley Hauerwas and William Willimon

Sex God – Rob Bell
This book really caused me to think about my marriage. Fantastic follow up to Velvet Elvis.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – J.K. Rowling

Searching For God Knows What – Donald Miller

Through Painted Deserts – Donald Miller

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince – J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – J.K. Rowling
I read the entire series this summer, and the finale was definitely worth a 2nd tour through the first six books.

Grace (Eventually) – Anne Lamott

Angela’s Ashes – Frank McCourt

Come/Back – Claire and Mia Fontaine

Nathan Coulter – Wendell Berry

Remembering – Wendell Berry

A World Lost – Wendell Berry

Everything Must Change – Brian McLaren
I wrote a few posts on this one. I dug it for the most part. Very American perspective on the current state of the world’s issues, the answers offered were recycled a bit, and I would have liked some more stories from his recent travels. McLaren does have a way of putting things together nicely, and it was a beneficial read.

Jayber Crow – Wendell Berry

Evil and the Justice of God – N.T. Wright

Hannah Coulter – Wendell Berry
I read a lot of Wendell Berry this fall, and this one was my favorite. If you have never read anything by Berry, pick up one of his books ASAP.

Welcome to the Terrordome: The Pain, Politics and Promise of Sports – Dave Zirin
Straight up best book I have ever read on sports.

Into the Wild – Jon Krakauer

38 is the final number, I believe. I’m currently reading The Road by Cormac McCarthy, and it is quite a page turner so that might pop on to the bottom of the list before next week.

Up next: choice movies of 2007.

    • Tom F
    • December 27th, 2007

    Well Ian, it’s been a while, but there’s nothing like a book list to pull old uncle Tom in.

    I just picked up that Volf book and Tom Wright’s Evil & the Justice of God at Mennonite Central Committee’s AGM…I’m looking forward to them.

    Glad to see you read Resident Aliens…that book was quite foundational for me back in the day.

    Anyways, it’s so nice to see you’re reading and quite a lot at that.

    Hope life keeps you well. I had no idea you were in seminary. I should like to hear about it. Why it looks like I might even finish my Tyndale degree 🙂

    Tom

    • Sabrina
    • December 27th, 2007

    Ian…you are a machine. 38? Wow. Thanks for the fantastic list. I’ll have to keep many of these in mind.

    Hoping you and your most wonderful wifey are enjoying yourselves today!

    • Ian
    • December 27th, 2007

    Sabrina,
    Is it as impressive when 1/5 of the books are meant for kids? I do recommend most if not all of the books on this list. It was a good reading year.
    We hope you, Ken and Gavin had a fantastic Christmas and we can’t wait to hang out upon our return to MB.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

