weekend nuggets

‘Twas a long and busy weekend, and while I try to stay away from ‘blog as life rundown’, I thought I would mix it up and drop some noteworthy nuggets on the readership.

– Lauren and I went out with some friends to a jazz lounge to celebrate her birthday. [sidenote: when we met up at their house, I was pumped to be able to watch a few minutes of the Raps game. should have kept the TV off. return with haste, CB4]. The evening was delightful, a definite highlight being when, during a scat, the female jazz singer clucked like a chicken.

– On Saturday morning, I met with Pastor Don from FaithWorks about my baptism this coming [Easter] Sunday. I am very excited about that, and just have to think about what I am going to say.

– On a down note, I lost my free donut [doughnut?] from a rrrrrrroll up the rrrrrrim that I was hoping to cash in on Saturday. Not clutch.

– In a world devoid of Pizza Pizza, I had the best ‘zza of the last circa 19 months on Saturday night at the Toad in the Hole pub in Winnipeg’s Osborne Village. That, coupled with my favourite local adult beverage proved to be a winning combo.

– After trading in some DVD’s at the Buster, we rented two movies that I have been jonesing to see – The Darjeeling Limited and No Country For Old Men. Neither one disappointed. Look for reviews on the movies page later today.

– I flicked on the TV yesterday just in time to watch Tiger drain a 25 footer to keep his winning streak alive. That guy is too much.

– And finally, if you missed SNL this week, you missed maybe the funniest in [my] recent memory. Jonah Hill was the host, and dude delivered. The highlight came in the form of a SNL Digital Short featuring Hill and Samberg. Watch and laugh [although I would add a disclaimer that perhaps not everyone would fund it funny.]

That, in a nutshell, was our weekend.

Only a limited number of them left for us in these parts.

  1. Enjoy the baptism man! Wish I could be there. No country for Old men was good. Had me at the edge of my seat. Just like Sea biscuit. miss ya man.

  2. Wish you could be there too, Mike. Any tips?

    And I am glad we watched No Country before dark, or else I would have had some serious nightmares. Dude was crazy.

    Miss you too. See you soon!

  3. Hey Ian, I’m so pumped that you are getting baptized on Sunday. Unfortunately I won’t be at church, but I just wanted to say congratulations and I’m so excited for you.

    • Paul Randell
    • March 18th, 2008

    It’s funny that you rented those two movies considering we also rented both here at the house in the past week, but yeah they were good movies. And, seriously, there’s no Pizza Pizza out in Manitoba?!?

  4. @ Kara – thanks for the baptismal congrats. Too bad you won’t be there. Have a great Easter!

    @ Paul – Both good movies. You said There Will Be Blood was good, right? I really want to see that one too. I think PP is on the way, so Manitobans will soon be able to feast on Ontario’s #1 pizza. And you can count on me dropping by the house soon after our return to ON. See you then!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

