book it

The big news in Toronto today is that Raptors play-by-play man Chuck Swirsky is leaving. After a decade covering the Raptors [and also hosting an afternoon show on the Fan 590 for the past few years], Chuck will be returning to Chicago and will be the radio guy for the Bulls. Asked why he had made this decision, Chuck said “”I have to do this for my family. I love Toronto, I thought I would be here for life, but family has to come first.”

Chuck has been a huge booster for the Raptors and the city of Toronto, and he will be missed. No more “break out the Salami and Cheese“, no more “from downtown [insert small Canadian town here]“, no more “Onions Baby, Onions.“, and no more guaranteed votes for Raptors players up for NBA awards. It’s a sad day. Sniff.

You can read Chuck’s departure announcement here.
—–
In other news, I recently came into possession of a gift card from Chapters, and after three trips through the store I can’t figure out what I want to pick up. There is a new Brian McLaren which might be good, and I’ve thought about grabbing some oldies that I have read before, but I am looking for something fresh. It can be fiction or non, it doesn’t matter. I just want to read something good this summer.

So I’ll throw it out there. Any suggestions / recommendations?

  1. ya i was bummed when i heard this. and he had just become a canadian citizen!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

