lakers v. celtics

I became a fan of the NBA around the time of the Raptors inception. My earliest memories of the NBA Finals are of Jordan and the Bulls, specifically the push off jump shot against the Jazz. I have no first hand appreciation, therefore, of the historic rivalry that is the Lakers v. Celtics. I know it’s big, and that this is the 2008 Finals that everyone [including myself, right after a Raptors / Suns matchup, of course] was hoping for.

I can’t wax poetic about the history because I didn’t witness it, but I can look at the present versions of these teams and offer some thoughts on the series that begins tonight.

The Lakers are led by the reigning NBA MVP, he who must not be named [and he must not be named because I was chastised for writing a post about him in the past. So, just to be safe … ]. #24 has gone from demanding a trade and cutting up his young teammates to leading his team to the Finals in less than a year. The Lakers have also benefited from the theft of Pau Gasol from the Grizzlies who stepped in when young C Andrew Bynum went down, and solid play from Odom and Fisher.

The Celtics are led by the big three of Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce and Ray Allen, who helped drastically turn this team around in one season. This team was put together with title aspirations, and, unlike the Lakers, the C’s have a limited window of time within which to bring a championship to Beantown.

While I will be cheering for Boston in this series [KG is one of my favorite non-TO players in the NBA], I think the edge must be given to the Lakers. I think that LA has the advantage of youth on their side, a much deeper bench and better coaching. Also, #24 is by far the most clutch player in the NBA today. In games I have watched, Boston’s Big Three has been lacking a certain killer instinct, and I believe that the long early series against the Hawks and Cavs will come back to haunt them.

Lakers in Six.

PS. Chris Bosh will be a correspondent for The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, so check that out if you get a chance.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

