summer reading

One thing I enjoy about summer is kicking back outside on a lounge chair with a good book. I also enjoy having a job where you can read when there are no calls coming in. And finally, I enjoy once again having access to a public library system. Yeah, I like to read. Always have, always will. And since I’ll be reading a pant load of heavy books for the next year, I thought I would enjoy reading some lighter fare for the summer.

Over the past couple of weeks, I have read A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini [another tremendous story set in Afghanistan by the author of The Kite Runner and Into Thin Air [an page turning account of the 1996 Mt Everest disaster by Jon Krakauer, author of Into The Wild].

Now I am on to The Chris Farley Show, a biography written by his brother and driven by memories of Chris by those who were with him through his rise to fame and his struggles with addiction. I’ll probably post more on that one when I am finished. I am also reading Brian McLaren’s new book Finding Our Way Again, a helpful little book about the history and importance of spiritual disciplines. [Thanks again to the gang @ FaithWorks for the gift card which allowed me to pick that one up.]

And up next is The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible.

After that, who knows? Hopefully the Guelph Public Library will help me figure that out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

