the monday news

It’s been a few days since I posted a ‘McLaren’s in Aberdeen’ update, so here we go.

This past weekend was a good one. As Saturday began, the weather was complete rubbish. I did my first assignment for school while Lauren finished off the final Harry Potter book. During the afternoon, we decided that we needed to get outside, so we ventured into the cold drizzle and made our way downtown. As we were coming out of the library [great cheap spot to rent movies], the clouds were beginning to pass, and by the time we had made a quick tour of the Art Gallery, there was not a cloud in the sky. We figured that it would be fun to grab a bite downtown, and we found this great pub called the Hog’s Head which just happened to be showing some Premier League football [Man U] on a big screen located mere feet from our table for two. Add to that the fact that there was an amazing meal deal going on, and throw in an adult beverage, and you have yourself a fantastic UK Saturday footy in the pub afternoon. Loved it.

On Sunday, we checked out Crown Terrace Methodist Church on a recommendation from this flat’s former tenants. While we enjoyed the churches we had attended in past weeks, I think we have a winner here. The service was very traditional, but they have a mixture of worship styles. We were able to meet some great people after the service, and chatted almost until everyone else had left. They have a young adults group that meets on Wednesdays, so we are going to attend that and more than likely make this our church home for the year. We are excited about that. Oh, and to top it off, Howard Marshall delivered the Lord’s Prayer in Aramaic. How cool is that?

Classes are going well. Like I said, I already handed in my first assignment. One of my classes on Friday is Methods in Theology, a class intended to bring all the divinity students together to give everyone some exposure to all the disciplines offered. We have to journal after each class, so I took care of that when the discussion was fresh in my mind. My NT Theology class, taught by the aforementioned NT scholar Howard Marshall, is made of up only three students, so it’s going to be a great opportunity to learn from this man in a small, intimate setting. And I am blessed to be able to learn from John Swinton. I have already started working on my big paper for pastoral care and counseling, and am excited to dig deeper into a topic that is near to my heart, and one on which Swinton has written a number of books himself.

Hopefully soon I will have some time to be able to post about what I have been learning already. I am slowly trying to develop a rhythm to my studies, and while I basically have [or should have] a book in front of me at all times, I am jonesing to share all that I am taking in. It is a blessing to be a student here, that is for sure.

That’s the scoop here. Now that we have the internet, we are able to talk on Skype, and if anyone wants to add us, our user name is mclaren813.

Time to make a coffee and read some possible thesis inspiration from Yoder.

    • Sabrina
    • October 10th, 2008

    Yes please to Yoder. That’s all I’ve got…oh, and we love you two and miss you like crazy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

