the topic

Over the past few weeks, I have been thinking a lot about my dissertation topic. I have bounced a few ideas around in my head, things that might interest me and give a distinctive shape to my year studying in Aberdeen. I recently began writing my New Testament theology paper on discipleship, and quickly realized that this is a much bigger topic that can be fit into three to four thousand words.

Basically, it seems to me that there is some misunderstanding out there in regards to what it means to follow Jesus in the 21st century, what it means to be a disciple today. For some, discipleship may seem like being called to adhere to a giant list of rules, regulations and principles, a burden that is to heavy to bear. For others, maybe it seems as though following Jesus requires little change in terms of lifestyle and the way the world seems to work. Both of these ways of thinking are, in my mind, faulty. But when you turn to the teachings of Jesus and discipleship as presented in the New Testament, does it provide a blueprint for discipleship? I see that as being a ‘yes and no’ question, and that’s basically what I’ll be working through – reflecting theologically on discipleship, with a view to enabling faithful participation in God’s redemptive work in, for, and through creation.

I have a supervisor lined up [Prof. John Swinton], and have already ordered a few helpful resources from Amazon [including The Great Omission by Dallas Willard, The Word That Redescribes The World by Walter Brueggemann and The Hauerwas Reader] to get me started.

That’s it in a tiny nutshell, and it all might look quite differently by 1/09/09 [due date]. I am excited about it, though. I think this will help me to put many of the things I am learning here together in a nice way, and I think this could be pretty transformative for me as I work through it.

On a totally unrelated topic, Lauren is going to her Bible study group tonight, and I am planning on watching Rocky for the first time ever. True story.

    • JT
    • November 20th, 2008

    Sounds like an interesting topic man!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

