snow days

I was talking to a Scottish friend of mine the other day who told me that he can’t ever remember having a ‘snow day’ as a kid. I told him that we would average maybe 4 or 5 a year where I grew up. I miss that. It snowed for the first time here in Aberdeen over the weekend. I went to meet Lauren downtown after work so we could hit up the grocery store and pick up a our ‘tea’ [which Lauren tells me means dinner here], and it was downright blizzard like. The good news is that as of early Monday morning, the snow seems to have disappeared and it will be 12 degrees by Wednesday. Here’s what else is new.

– Today marks the beginning of week nine of my first term. That means I have just under four weeks left to finish two large papers and hand in my dissertation proposal including chapter outlines.

– It is officially one month less a day until we fly to Paris!

– My niece turned 13 last week. It seems like just yesterday that my parents and I drove to Listowel to meet her, and I was too scared to hold her because I had never really held a baby before and I thought I would drop her. And that was me at 14. One of my favorite memories I have of Emily and I revolve around going to the movies. One time, I took her to see Toy Story 2. I think I was more excited to see it than she was, to be honest. Anyway, before the movie, I made sure that she went to the bathroom because I did not want her poking me in the middle of the movie to tell me she had to go and have to miss a good part. Everything’s going good, the movie is awesome, and then … I poke Emily and tell her we have to leave for a minute because Uncle Ian had to go and couldn’t hold it. Oops. Thankfully, she was very understanding. She also got very excited about the fact that there was a girl in the movie named Emily. Fun times. Happy Birthday, Emily!

– We watched Prince Caspian for the first time yesterday. I had heard mixed reviews, but despite some major liberties taken in terms of story line, I thought it was pretty good. Reepicheep is the man. Or the mouse. B+ on that one.

– Lauren and I managed to snap a few photos of the snow around here before it melted. On the top right you will find a new facebook album with some shots from the past month. Feel free to peruse at your leisure. Here’s a preview:

That’s about it, I guess. Life in Aberdeen is pretty good. We’re starting to develop a good rhythm as Lauren has transitioned into her new job and I do most of my some school work during the day so we can hang out in the evenings. Time is flying, though. I can’t believe it’s almost December and that we have been here for almost three months already. I am very much looking forward to getting out of town and seeing more of Scotland, the UK and Europe as the year goes on. For now, it’s time to officially start the day and prepare for a day of class.

Cheers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

