rainy days

In the words of I. Howard Marshall, the weather in Aberdeen lately has been “downright miserable.” I concur. For a few days now, it has been chilly and rainy, and with the sunrise creeping closer to 8.45 am and sunset at 3.30, you need some intentionality in terms of brightening your day. [Having said that, from what I have heard about the weather in Manitoba lately, I will take rain over severe windchills and frozen automobiles any day.] Lauren and I chose not to let the weather dampen our weekend. Here’s the Monday rundown:

– Other than Friday evening when we met after Lauren was finished work, I think this was the first weekend that we have not ventured down to Union St., which was quite refreshing. With it being so close to Christmas, no doubt the already busy city centre would have been even nuttier than usual. Instead, we woke up on Saturday and had a nice breakfast, went to the post office to send off some Christmas gifts, and walked to the Uni and enjoyed a warm beverage and some reading. Beats hitting the shops any day.

– We came home and skyped with Lauren’s family, and then watched The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford. I’ve wanted to watch it for a while, but always thought it could go either way – long, slow and boring or really good. It was much closer to the latter, with some incredible acting and some good stuff to say about celebrity and perceptions. Good flick.

– It was still raining yesterday, so instead of making the 30 minute walk to CTM, we decided to attend church at King’s College chapel. The Uni Chaplaincy puts on a service every week, and it was so nice to worship in the beautiful chapel where students have been worshiping for literally hundreds of years.

– I have to give a shout out to the wonders of the interweb. Yesterday, we were able to skype with my family in Ottawa, and then I was able to video stream both the Chelsea match and later on the Raptors game live from the ACC. They lost, but it was quite a treat. It was the first time I was able to watch JO in action, and also hear Chuck’s replacement, Matt Devlin. I was impressed with both.

– Lauren has been doing some amazing Christmas baking lately. She has made some chocolate macaroons, buckeyes [peanut butter balls covered in chocolate] and some fudge. I am a lucky man. The only challenge is not devouring them all in one shot.

– Speaking of Christmas, this week we will be attending a performance of Handel’s Messiah at the Aberdeen Music Hall with the Merrick’s, and also the Hamilton School’s Christmas presentation. Should be fun.

– This is, of course, the last week of classes for me. I will sadly no longer be in class with Prof. Swinton or Prof. Marshall. I could not have asked for a better duo of professors to learn from in my first session in Aberdeen. I am just about ready to hand in my NT Theology paper, and all that is left is a 500 word dissertation proposal by Friday. Oh, and of course the joy of exams hanging over my head until mid-January.

– One week until Paris!

I think that’s it, really. It’s hard to believe that the holidays are here already. This time last year we had already flown home and I was on my way to Indiana with Brett to pick up Mark. It’s scary how fast time flies.

Time to give my paper a once over before I hand it in.

Cheers,

Ian

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

