movie recap

Have I mentioned that I love movies? Well, it’s true. We managed to see a few this past year, although there were a bunch that I have not yet been able to watch and I hope to view soon. Here are the five best movies I saw from the past year from some different genres.

Forgetting Sarah Marshall – The comedy. Pineapple Express and Tropic Thunder received a lot of hype as top comedies, but I thought this movie was very funny. Jason Segel wrote and starred, and proved that he is another hilarious cog in the Apatow wheel. Jonah Hill and Russell Brand were also good for more than a few laughs.

Iron Man – The popcorn flick. After having seen Iron Man and Prince Caspian, I am very glad that Lauren pulled a last minute audible and bought tickets for Iron Man instead of Narnia. Caspian was good, but Iron Man was a much better movie. Pretty much everything you could ask for from a superhero / comic book flick.

Kung Fu Panda – The animated movie, part 1. WALL-E was nice and had a relevant message in terms of the environment, but as animated flicks go, I enjoyed Jack Black’s panda more than the robot. The animation was off the charts cool, and just the sound of Black’s voice puts a smile on my face.

WALL-E – The animated movie, part 2. Having said that, there’s no denying that this movie was pretty special. Can Pixar make a bad movie?

The Dark Knight – Obviously the movie of the year that pretty much everyone saw and loved. It’s very rare that a movie totally lives up to or even surpasses the hype, but this one managed to do it.

[I could add one from the girly movie genre, but I’m a bit embarrassed to admit that I saw it. I’ll leave it at that.]

Also enjoyed: The Bank Job, Run, Fat Boy, Run, The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian, Pineapple Express, Son of Rambow, Quantum of Solace

One I Missed That I Really Want To See [some of which have not yet been released]:
In Bruges
Get Smart
Hancock
Step Brothers
Tropic Thunder
Burn After Reading
Ghost Town
Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist
Body of Lies
Changeling
Slumdog Millionaire
Milk
The Wrestler
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Australia
Revolutionary Road

Did I miss anything that anyone out there loved and I should see?

2008 book list coming soon.

  1. December 21st, 2008

Leave a Reply

