friday randoms

For Valentine’s Day, Lauren surprised me with a copy of A People’s History of Sport in the United States by Dave Zirin. I’ve read up until just after WWII, and the one thing that stands out to me the most is how differently the sports records books would look if it were not for segregation in sports. How many baseball players, for instance, if given the opportunity, could have proven to be among the greats? Great book to check out if you’re a sports fan.

The NBA trade deadline was yesterday. Yawn. The Raptors did make one move, picking up former 9th overall pick Patrick O’Bryant from the Celtics. Double yawn.

I think that Demitri Martin is a very funny dude. He has a new show called Important Things. Here’s one of the funniest bits so far, in my opinion.

I made a list of all the books I want to read [or at least browse] for my thesis in the coming weeks. It’s kind of long. I do have a three week Easter vacation break coming up, so most of my time off will be spent reading. And working on a 5,000 paper for my Ethics class based on this book. Also, Lauren and I are looking into going to Durham for Easter. Three cheers for the person who can tell me why it might be cool to be in Durham for Easter.

I have a new idea for a blog that will be co-written by a friend of mine from the early Sebago days. That should be up and running over the weekend.

Finally, here are a few picture from our weekend in Glasgow:

Voltaire and Rousseau Used Bookstore.

George Square

Glasgow City Centre

Two young lads piping, drumming and doing the hokey-pokey.

Outside the Celtic store.

My beautiful wife enjoying a hot chocolate and some C.S. Lewis @ Costa.

Glasgow Cathedral.

The rest can be seen here or @ Lauren’s facebook.

Time to start the day.

Cheers,

Ian

    • Orrey
    • February 20th, 2009

    Hello,

    I’ve been lurking for a while, but thought I might as well comment on this. I just got back from Durham a few weeks ago (I’ll be there for an MA next year). While touring the cathedral, one of the stewards mentioned that N. T. Wright is only at the cathedral two-three times a year typically. One of those is Easter. So, if you like N. T. Wright (I do), that might be worth one cheer!

    Hope the trip goes well. I have really enjoyed reading your blog.

    • Ian
    • February 21st, 2009

    That is indeed why we would be going to Durham for Easter. And the fact that we have heard it is a very nice town. Thanks for taking the time to read the blog; glad you are enjoying it.

    What will you be studying at Durham next year?

    • Orrey
    • February 21st, 2009

    I’ll be doing an MA in biblical studies. Durham is a nice town, indeed.

    How long is the train from Aberdeen to Durham?

    • Ian
    • February 24th, 2009

    Very nice. Durham’s theology program was recently rated #1 in the UK, only ahead of Aberdeen.

    We are about 4 hours North I believe.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

