finals predictions

I know I’m already one game behind on this post, but after having posted predictions on the first three rounds, I would be remiss if I failed to offer a thought on the Finals. After tonight, my lateness will be a moot point as I believe it will be a best of five as they head back to PA, and the Penguins will ultimately prevail in seven. The Wings may be the better team and have the know-how to get it done, but I think the Pens experience from last year, and their youthfulness will help them over the long haul of a what will be a long series. Plus, the Wings are banged up with nagging injuries to the likes of Datsyuk and Lidstrom. Also, I think MAF will come up huge. Everyone talks about how Crosby and Malkin have grown up since last year, but Fleury’s game is finally living up to his #1 overall billing. Pittsburgh will get it done, leaving Marian Hossa to regret switching sides.

Over in the NBA, the basketball world has been robbed of its dream final with the Magic’s ousting of LeBron and the Cavs. The Lakers made it out of the West, hoping to accomplish what they were unable to do last year v the Celtics. Personally, I would love to see Superman come out on top, but I think he who must not be named is a man on a post-Shaq era mission, and the Lakers will win in six.

You heard it all here first. Except for the hockey prediction. My bad.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

