Tiggy & Tony

Life is full of the unexpected – The unexpected car bill, the unexpected rain shower, the unexpected scenic view, the unexpected friendships. On the one hand, there is a part of me that loves the comfort of the expected, the morning routines, the comfort in knowing that my husband will always be there on time (he has never been late to this day) and of course the assurance that God loves me despite my failures. On the other hand, there is a part of me that knows that even though the things that are planned bring a sense of security, life just wouldn’t be life without the surprises (whether good or bad) that add so much colour to the journey.

When we first moved to Scotland I certainly did not expect to be working with children full time. There were days when my energy was so depleted that I did not have much left by the time I got home from my 5km run after working for 9 hours (thanks to Ian for having dinner on the table most nights and then doing the dishes). The children challenged me every single day to live presently, to live honestly, and to live patiently. I can’t say I was always successful at those things, but I can say that I have grown as a person from the experience.

It was through my time at The Hamilton that I happened upon an unexpected friendship with a five-year-old Scottish girl named Tiggy (‘Tigs’ for short). It didn’t take long for this little girl to make her way into my heart. We were kindred spirits. Every morning before the bell would ring we would have chats about life: from the importance of catching the grey squirrels over the red squirrels to funny stories about her baby sister, LuLu to her concerns about another girl in our class who had stolen her snack the previous day. I have been blessed numerous times in my life with the gift of an unexpected friendship. There is something so special knowing that you have formed a bond that seemed to have come out of nowhere, yet clearly was a part of the plan all along.

I met Ian’s friend Tony today at the Tesco petrol station. Tony has schizophrenia. From the moment I met friendly Tony I knew that Ian too has found an unexpected bond through his job. Ian’s face lights up when he talks about Tony over the dinner table. As Ian and Tony walked away from the shop with sweeties in hand, they kept turning back and waving at me – it was definitely the highlight of my day.

So here I am in the final days of our Scottish adventure, filled with a deep sense of gratitude for the kingdom moments that Ian and I have experienced both together and individually throughout our time in Aberdeen. I am hopeful for the future – I am expectant for the unexpected, so to speak, for I know there will be more Tiggy’s and Tony’s along the way that make life so rich and meaningful.

ps. Due to ethical reasons, we do not have photos to post of our dear friends.

pps. Here is a picture of the beautiful flowers that Tiggy picked out for me at the end of term.

IMG_8341

    • Sabrina
    • August 28th, 2009

    Lovely Lauren,

    Thank you for the reminder to look for kingdom moments and to be open to embracing the gift of the unexpected. I needed to be reminded of that today, and found myself encouraged by the stories of unanticipated friendships that you and Ian have been able to develop during your time in Scotland. How neat. Continuing to think of you two as you wait on the Lord and anticipate all that is ahead. Much love to the both of you.

    • JT
    • August 29th, 2009

    That was really great!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

