the aberdeen playlist

When we left Manitoba a year and a half ago, I posted a list of the albums that defined that chapter of life. Along those same lines, I thought it was only appropriate to offer up some of the tunes that were on heavy rotation over the past year.

Sufjan Stevens – Come On, Feel the Illinoise

I had heard so much about Sufjan in the past, but had never had the chance to really listen to his music. I got my hands on this album, and it became an instant favorite. I remember falling in love with this album while on my way to our young adults Bible study group early last fall; this is some great music to walk around to at night. This is also what I listened to on our overnight train rides during our Euro trip.

Bon Iver – For Emma, Forever Ago

In a quest for new, good music, a few friends highly recommended this album to me. They were all bang on, because this album is amazing. The perfect tunes to listen to while hibernating in a cold flat on a cloudy day in Aberdeen.

The Killers – Day and Age

Lauren bought me a new Nano for my birthday, and it came with an iTunes gift card. I immediately downloaded this latest Killers album and it was heavily played in the month of December. Lauren was also approached by a young boy at school who asked her if she was human or dancer, and that is a funny memory from her job as a teacher.

Downhere Ending Is Beginning

I have been a fan of this band for years, ever since my college roommate introduced me to them. In my mind, this is their best album since their amazing debut, and I would listen to this in the mornings while reading my Bible or going out for a run by the sea.

The Fray (self-titled)

Purchased for me as a Valentine’s Day present from Lauren, I listened to this non-stop for about two months, beginning with a fun bus trip to Glasgow that weekend. This album also reminds me of LOST (as ‘You Found Me’ was featured on a promo for the show) which in turn reminds me of good times shared with friends as we gathered to watch / chat about the best TV show ever.

Chris Tomlin – Hello Love

Thanks to Spotify, this was the album most played on Sunday mornings while we got ready to make the 45 minute walk into town to Crown Terrace Methodist Church. Speaking of that walk, I will always remember hearing the bells of St. Nicholas as we walked down Belmont St.

Derek Webb – Stockholm Syndrome

We bought this album just before we went to Holland during the summer, and listened to it non-stop while we were there, and it’s still on heavy play. Brilliant. Check my full review of this album here.

There you have it. This is the music that forever will remind me of our time in Aberdeen.

Honorable mention: MuteMath – Armistice, Flight of the Conchords (listened to many an evening while doing the dishes), Snow Patrol – A Hundred Million Suns, Sufjan Stevens – Michigan, U2 – No Line On the Horizon

Currently seeking some fresh tunes for the soundtrack of ‘the new adventures.’ Any suggestions?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

