2009 movie recap

Anyone who really knows me would be aware of the fact that I am a big movie guy.

Here’s a few that I really enjoyed from this past year, and a few others that are on my ‘to see’ list.

I Love You, Man – I have been a big Jason Segel fan for a long time, but it’s Paul Rudd that makes this movie a memorable one. His constant attempts at dropping nicknames and sounding hip are comedy gold. Plus, as with many recent great comedies, it’s a fantastic mix of jokes and heart. I also wrote a longer post about it here.

UP: I don’t quite get how Pixar can keep busting out great movie after great movie, but they did it again with this one. The musical montage of a young Carl Fredricksen and his wife Elie is maybe one of the most moving sequences I have ever seen in a movie, period. Sure, the story moves into kid zone to keep the little ones interested, but it’s a great movie about friendship and community that should not be missed.

The Hangover: I had never heard of Zach Galifianakis before I saw this movie, but, in my opinion, he steals the show. In fact, what separates this buddy flick from others is the four main characters; the viewer can relate and connect to them on different levels, and this carries the movie over and above the storyline and the hi-jinx, taking it from good to great.

Inglorious Basterds: I just watched this a couple of weeks ago and loved it. I mean really loved it, way more than I expected. What is great about it is that, unlike other movies, the story is allowed to develop slowly, making you feel like you are actually reading a great novel rather than watching a movie. Single scenes of dialogue go on for 20 minutes or more, ratcheting up the tension and holding your attention even though nothing is really happening, all the while setting the table for what is to come. Fantastic movie – one of the best I have seen in a long time.

An Education: A British movie about a young girl wooed by a much older man in 60s London. Outstanding acting performances by both lead characters carry this movie (Carey Mulligan should be nominated for every acting award out there), one that offers some solid real-life perspective at a time when the theaters are packed with young people swooning over vampires and werewolves.

Away We Go: A couple who is expecting their first child travel around the U.S. in order to find a perfect place to start their family. This is a really funny, sweet and thought provoking movie featuring great performances by John Krasinski and Maya Rudolph. Written by Dave Eggers, whose work I have really come to enjoy over the past few months, work that includes …

Where The Wild Things Are: Loved this movie, and wrote a full post on it here.

Worth watching: The Class, Star Trek, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, Funny People, Julie and Julia, Sunshine Cleaning.

Want to watch: The Hurt Locker, (500) Days of Summer, District 9, The Informant!, The Damned United, Fantastic Mr. Fox, The Blind Side, The Road, Invictus, Up In The Air, Avatar*, It’s Complicated, Sherlock Holmes.

The Rubbish Pile: Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

*I am actually going to see Avatar this afternoon, and I am hoping that it ends up at or near the top of this list and out of Transformers territory. Time will tell.

  1. The Blind Side was awesome, in my opinion. Sandra Bullock brings her A game, and the fellow playing Michael Oher does a great job of appearing overwhelmed and insecure without it becoming hard to watch. It’s going on my “buy when it’s not $30” list.

    • Ian
    • December 30th, 2009

    Definitely want to check that one out. Thanks Chris.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

