cat acne and impending fatherhood

A massive cliché these days is that young couples should get some sort of pet in order to prepare them for the realities of parenthood. While I don’t thin this is what Lauren had in mind when she brought Sophie (our cat) home for my birthday, in some ways, I can see how it might be true.

Consider the following.

A few weeks after Sophie came to live with us, I noticed that she had a little bump on her chin that had not been there before. In my head, this was kind of like getting a new toy for Christmas that was broken by Boxing Day. I was afraid that something horrible was happening to our new cat that she would never recover from. I immediately Googled ‘cats, chin bumps’, and came to discover that it was probably an outbreak of cat acne caused by the fact that we had switched up her food. As per instruction, I got a cloth and some mild antibacterial soap, and washed her chin a couple of times a day until her little kitty zitty came off. While I was made fun of around the house for ‘babying’ the cat, treating what ailed her seemed to me to be the logical and caring thing to do. So what if I picked her up and held her like a baby for as long as she would tolerate it, telling her that everything was going to be alright?

I will admit now that I may have overdone it a bit; but, having said that, Sophie is a gift that has been entrusted to me, and, as her owner, I need to do all that I can to keep her healthy and safe.

I put the busyness of life on hold this morning so that I could go to a midwife appointment with Lauren. While it was good to ask some questions and receive some useful information, the best part was being able to hear the baby’s heartbeat. As I sat there listening to those precious beats, and as I considered my willingness to prioritize the treatment of something like cat acne, it occurred to me that I am only beginning to fathom what kind of impact the gift that is our baby will have on my life.

I was reminded of these words in John, where Jesus says “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.” Every day, I continue to learn what He is talking about in regards to my relationship with my wife, and with also with family, friends, strangers, people I don’t really like all that much, and yes, even cats.

And, I very much look forward to discovering what these words will mean to me as a new father.

  1. Ian, I have also been known to “baby” my cat and dog on occasion, so I know what you mean and I would have done the same thing. It’s funny how I never thought I would be one of those kind of pet people, but what can I say, I like them an awful lot.
    What a neat experience to hear the heartbeat of your baby. Praying that baby McLaren continues to grow strong and healthy. You guys are going to be fabulous parents.

  2. We are a bunch of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

