kicking into summer

As if we are already more than halfway through June.

Life has been pretty busy over the past few weeks. I officially started my new job with Christian Horizons, and am really enjoying it. I’m still picking up the odd shift at the children’s home and at another CH home, so days off like the one I have today are wholeheartedly embraced. I have also been playing on a 3-pitch team with some friends, and that has added some great fun and fellowship to our Thursday evenings. Lauren recently went on a trip to Texas to visit her friend Ingrid, and had an awesome time hanging out with her down there. They made the drive back to Guelph together and Lauren was blessed to spend some time with her over the past few weeks. We also had the opportunity to go to a Mark Schultz concert [organized by the one and only Chris Lewis] a couple of weeks ago, and we were both greatly encouraged and blessed by his wonderful songs. Looking ahead, we are excited to take a trip to Ottawa next weekend, and to spend Canada Day weekend camping with friends @ Bon Echo. I am also very much enjoying the World Cup and hope that the teams that I am rooting for – England and Holland – will go deep in the tournament.

Speaking of football, I would be remiss if I did not write about our own little kicker. It has been amazing to see Lauren’s belly growing in recent weeks, and it’s always a treat to be able to witness and feel our son moving around in there. It seems though one of his more active times is right before Lauren and I go to sleep, which may or may not be an ominous sign. As I like to think of it, perhaps it’s just his way of spending a few quiet minutes with us at the end of the day. We like to chat with with him a bit, tell him that we love him and that we’re looking forward to meeting him, and have even read him his first story. Many people have been telling us that we are [obviously] in for a big life change, that we better get used to being at the constant beck and call of this little boy, and that things will never be the same for us. While I’m sure this is all true to varying degrees, there’s certainly no way of actually knowing what all of that means before it actually happens. What can begin to be experienced pre-birth, however, is a deep love that serves to frame all of the above. With every kick, that love grows deeper, and I firmly believe that all of the challenges of first-time parenting will be entirely worth it as we journey together as faithful stewards of the great gift of our son that God is blessing us with.

I’ll try to post some more thoughts on becoming a first-time parent throughout the summer, which, as I mentioned will be a busy one, starting with a 3-pitch tournament tomorrow, which should be pretty fun.

I’ll end this post with one of my favorite pics of the three of us from a recent photo shoot that we did, courtesy of Ingrid [and currently featured on the who we are page].

    • Jim
    • June 18th, 2010

    Love the picture. You guys are going to be awesome parents. Happy first fathers day. I am very proud of you and to call you my son.

    Love you
    dad

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

