beyond opinion

As I begin this review, I feel the need to be completely honest and state up front that I mostly skimmed this book. I do take the task of reading and reviewing books seriously, but I just could not find the motivation to work my way through each of this volume’s 329 pages. While I have a great deal of respect for Ravi Zacharias and his ministry, I think that my ability to fully dive into this book was hindered by the fact that this kind of approach to matters of faith simply does not reflect where I’m at right now.

In the final essay (did I mention that this book is a collection of essay written by various members of RZIM?), Zacharias notes that in order to live a life reflecting the person of Christ, one must embark on this threefold process:

First, we cannot take seriously the skeptic’s difficult questions until we ourselves also have worked through them. Second, when such answers are known, they must be internalized (the process of spiritual transformation) so that, third, these answers will be lived out before a hurting and hungry world.

Personally, I am probably caught somewhere in the first stage while attempting to embody the third, fully aware of the fact that the second is an ongoing process. So while this book is an attempt to provide the reader with some practical information in regards to ‘living the faith we defend’, its content is founded on answers to questions that this sojourner is still working through, thus hindering me from getting too excited about it.

Having said that, this book should probably be owned by those who are into apologetics. The essays in this book address a wide range of issues, everything from how Christians are to respond to challenges from other religions, science and the culture in which we live to spiritual transformation and the role of the Church in apologetics. I’ll definitely keep it on my shelf as a helpful resource.

*Note: This book was provided free of charge from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program.

  1. I am also trying to get through this book for a review. It is a hard book to grasp. I am muddling through this book trying to get it all. I hope that I can finish it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

